About

Located in the south central Guangdong Province and to the east of the Pearl River estuary, Dongguan is situated in the middle section of the economic corridor connecting also Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Initially named Bao ' an as a county in AD 331, the territory did not change its name to the current “Dongguan” until AD 757 during the Tang Dynasty. “Dong” which literarily means east in Chinese refers to its location, i.e. east to Guangzhou while “guan” is the name of a kind of grass growing in profusion on this land.

In 1839, Lin Zexu destroyed a considerable quantity of opium in Humen, Donguan, which ushered in the modern time of China. In September 1985 Dongguan Country was renamed and called “city”. However, it was in January 1988 when it obtained the city-level position. To date, 4 sub-districts and 28 towns are under its direct governance. Covering a total land area of 2,460 square kilometers, Dongguan has a permanent population of 8.26 million by the end of 2016, among which 2 million are registered residents. Besides, over 200,000 Chinese living in a foreign land and more than 700,000 compatriots in Hong Kong and Macao are from Dongguan, which makes it a well-Known hometown to overseas Chinese. In 2016 the total output of Dongguan city achieved RMB 682.7 billion yuan ,with growth of 8.1% and its import and export international trade registered RMB 1141.6 billion yuan, while the growth is 9.8%.

Dongguan is an international city renowned for manufacturing that keeps pace with the times. Year 1978 witnessed the opening of the county’s first enterprise that operates in a model of outward processing and compensation trade (referring to processing with supplied materials, processing with supplied patterns and samples, assembly with supplied components, and compensation trade), namely, Taiping Handbag Factory, in Dongguan. Since the reform and opening up, the philosophy of export-oriented, manufacturing-based and urban-rural integrated development has brought the traditional agricultural country into an emerging city that is reputed for manufacturing worldwide. With less than 0.03% of the country’s land, Dongguan contributes over 1% of China’s total industrial output, earning it the honor as an extraordinary microcosm of how the reform and opening up can benefit the province of Guangdong and even the country at large, and also enlisting the city as one of the 18 model regions in China with regard to the reform and opening up. To this day, foreign investors from more than 40 countries and regions have been attracted to Dongguan. 11,000 foreign-funded enterprises have quartered here and the utilized foreign capital has accumulated to nearly US$ 85 billion. With 88 projects invested by 49 of the world’s Top 500 enterprises, pillar industries including electronics and information, electrical machinery and equipment, textile and garments, food and beverage, paper making and paper products, etc. are shaped and emerging industry clusters for photoelectric LED, novel tablet display, solar PV and so on have come into being.

Manufacturing plays an essential role in the growth, development and prosperity of Dongguan. As the tag of “Manufactured in Dongguan” has won fame both at home and abroad, Dongguan has become a world-renowned manufacturing base and a major export base of China. It is jokingly said within the industry that a traffic jam in Dongguan entails a shortage of supply worldwide. The PC matching rate reaches 95% in Dongguan, over 10 types of IT products account for 10% to 30% of the international market and the annual shipment of smart phones equals 20% of the world supply. One out of every ten pairs of sneakers around the globe is made in Dongguan, one in every five persons on average has a sweater which is made in Dongguan and 30% of toys in the world are also made in Dongguan. Various industrial clusters that are recognized by the country and the world have been developed in the towns of Dongguan. For example, Humen is Known for women’s wear, Dalang for woolen sweaters, Houjie for shoes and Dalingshan for exported furniture. In addition, there are distinguishing parks in Dongguan including Songshan Lake (Eco-park) that functions as a national high-tech industrial development zone as well as a demonstration area for circular economy and ecological industry, the economic zone with a distinctive aquapolis culture integrating both traditional and modern elements, and the Humen Port which is a national class one port.

Dongguan is an inclusive city with a profound historical and cultural legacy. Friends from different countries and regions invest and mingle in Dongguan. Diverse cultures diffuse here, be it from the west or east, traditional or modern, refined or popular, coastal or inland. The Haogang Relic unearthed in Dongguan, also Known as “the First Village in Pearl River Delta,” indicates that ancient humans have inhabited in the land of Dongguan as early as 5,000 years ago. Dongguan is endowed with the deep-rooted Lingnan culture and the acclaimed Lingnan style painting was originated from the Keyuan Garden in Dongguan. In recent years, the city has been vigorously promoting the urban development towards a culturally renowned city. A wide range of cultural amenities such as the Magnolia Grand Theatre, libraries, museums including the Science and Technology Museum have been built. A series of nationally influential campaigns to promote the library, museum, popular culture, musicals, music for migrant workers, literature for migrant workers and more have been successfully carried out. The cultural square here is the most concentrated in China. A 24-hour book circulation system covers the whole city. Cantonese opera associations are flourishing here and there. Programs such as Our Festivals, Cultural Weekend, Reading Festival, Urban Rainbow and Sing to Shine are thriving. With 14 plays including Butterfly, Steel Piano and Love Me Once More, Mum created within 10 years, musicals made in Dongguan shot to fame and the city is entitled to the most productive for original musicals in China. In 2013, Dongguan became well acKnowledged as a national demonstration region for public cultural service system, which is the only one in Guangdong Province and among the first ones across the country. Furthermore, the city was designated as one of the ten national pilot bases for public cultural service standardization.

Dongguan is brimmed with passion for sports. Chen Jingkai, the first world record breaker of China for sports after the founding of the country was born in Dongguan. Ding Junhui the snooker prodigy had training here and Yi Jianlian achieved as a basketball super star here. Dongguan is home to the “Finest CBA (Chinese Basketball Association) Court” (Dongguan Basketball Centre) with the famous CBA team “Guangdong Southern Tigers”, the “World’s No. 1 Golf Club” (Mission Hills Golf Club), Li Yongbo Badminton School and a national badminton training base. Moreover, the city is honored by the state for its long-held tradition in swimming, weightlifting, dragon boat, dragon and lion dance, snooker and basketball and so on. In 2015, the city of sports will be even more thrilling by hosting its first major international sport event which is the 14th Sudirman Cup, a world mixed team badminton championship. The 16th Asian Marathon Championships will also be held in Dongguan in 2017.

Dongguan is a modern ecological city that is harmonious and comfortable to live in. Dongguan is recognized by the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) as an "International Garden City". There are ecological conservation zones that cover thousands of square kilometers. The beautiful environment and the harmonious ecology make the city an ideal place to live and work in. With a forest coverage rate of 37.4%, Dongguan possesses 22 forest parks, six natural reserves, fourteen wetland parks, 1,500 parks and squares and 956 kilometers of greenways. The public green area per capital in the urban areas reaches 22.87 square metres and all of the ten major forest parks are open to the public for free.

As one of China’s Best Tourist Cities, Dongguan has abundant tourism resources encompassing national 4A scenic areas and spots such as the Opium War Museum, Songshan Lake, National Forest Park of Guanyin Mountain, Amazing World of South China Mall and Dongguan Science and Technology Museum, historical relics and attractions including China’s Historical and Cultural Village Nanshe, ancient architectural complex from Ming and Qing dynasties in Tangwei and Ying’enmen City-gate Tower, and the newly developed tourist spots such as Guanhe Museum and China Architecture Ceramic Museum. The Fog & Rain in Songshan Lake, Glory & Hope of Dongguan Avenue, Gem & Delight in Central Square, History & Future of Humen Bridge, Greens & Health in Huying Park, Season & Fragrance in Banling, Lotus & Egret in Lianhua Hill and Ripple & Moonlight in Jinsha are the top eight sights of Dongguan, which are the fabulous name-cards of the tourist city. At present, Dongguan strives to develop ten major tourist projects associated with exhibition, sports, villages, ecology, waterways, heritages, culture, industry, healthcare and leisure respectively, aiming to be an international destination for both business and leisure.

Dongguan has witnessed the exploration and achievements of China in the one hundred years from the Burning of Opium at Humen to the “Manufactured in Dongguan” era. Embracing the inclusive, pragmatic and innovative ethos of the city, Dongguan citizens are striding confidently towards the epoch of “Created in Dongguan.” This is Dongguan in China, a dynamic city where vibrance blossoms every day.

For more information, please refer to:

Dong:http://www.dg.gov.cn/

Dongguan Today:http://www.dongguantoday.com

Information Office of Dongguan Government on Weibo microblog:http://weibo.com/guanxianghuakai

Information Office of Dongguan Government on Wechat:@ Dongguanfabu

Dongguan Sunshine:http://www.sun0769.com

Time Dongguan:http://www.timedg.com

东莞市概况

东莞,位于广东省中南部,珠江口东岸,广州、深圳、香港经济走廊中段。东晋咸和六年(公元331年)立县,初名宝安,唐至德二年(公元757年)更名东莞。因在广州之东,境内盛产莞草而得名。

1839年,林则徐在东莞虎门销烟,揭开了中国近代史的序幕。1985年9月撤县建市,1988年1月升格为地级市,现直辖4个街道、28个镇。全市陆地总面积2460平方公里。2016年末常住人口826.14万人,其中户籍人口200.94万人。另有海外侨胞20多万人,港澳同胞70多万人,是著名的侨乡。2016年,东莞全市实现生产总值6827.67亿元,增长8.1%;2016年,全市进出口总额11416亿元,比上年增长9.8%。

——东莞是与时俱进的国际制造名城。1978年,全国第一家“三来一补”企业太平手袋厂在东莞诞生。改革开放以来,东莞坚持以外向带动起步,以制造产业立市,以城乡一体发展,从一个传统的农业县发展成为新兴的国际制造业名城。东莞以不到全国万分之三的土地,创造了超过全国百分之一的工业总产值,被称为广东乃至全国改革开放的一个精彩缩影,被列为全国改革开放18个典型地区之一。目前已吸引全球40多个国家和地区的外商前来投资,汇集了近1.1万家外资企业,累计利用外资近850亿美元,全球49家500强企业在莞投资项目88个,形成了电子信息、电气机械及设备、纺织服装鞋帽、食品饮料、造纸及纸制品等支柱产业,培育出LED光电、新型平板显示、太阳能光伏等新兴产业集群。

东莞,起步于制造,发展于制造,扬名于制造。“东莞制造”驰名中外,是世界知名的制造业基地、我国重要的外贸出口基地。东莞电脑整机配套率达95%,10多种IT产品占据国际市场10%—30%,智能手机年出货量占全球20%,全球每10双运动鞋就有1双产自东莞,平均每5个人就拥有1件产自东莞的毛衣,全球玩具30%也产自东莞。这里有“中国女装名镇”虎门、“中国羊毛衫名镇”大朗、“世界鞋业总部基地”厚街、“中国家具出口第一镇”大岭山等著名产业集群。这里有国家级高新技术产业开发区、“循环经济和生态工业示范区”松山湖(生态园),“岭南水乡文明与现代城市文明相融合”的水乡特色发展经济区,“国家一类口岸”虎门港等特色园区。

——东莞是多元融合的历史文化名城。来自不同国家和地区的朋友在东莞投资创业、和谐相处,东方与西洋、传统与现代、高雅与通俗、沿海与内地等多种文化在这里交汇融合、共同发展。在东莞发掘出的蚝岗遗址,被誉为“珠三角第一村”,表明早在5000年前珠三角古人类已经在东莞繁衍生息。东莞具有深厚的岭南文化积淀,著名的岭南画派也发端于东莞可园。近年来东莞大力推进文化名城建设,相继建成了玉兰大剧院、图书馆、博物馆、科技馆等一大批公共文化设施,打造了图书馆之城、博物馆之城、广场文化之城、音乐剧之都、打工音乐、打工文学等系列在全国有影响力的品牌。这里有全国密度最大的文化广场,覆盖全市的24小时图书借阅系统,遍地开花的粤剧私伙局,还有“我们的节日”、文化周末、读书节、都市彩虹、越唱越红等品牌活动。“莞产音乐剧”声名鹊起,10年内创编《蝶》、《钢的琴》、《妈妈再爱我一次》等14部音乐剧,成为国内生产原创音乐剧最多的城市。2013年东莞成功创建成为广东省唯一、全国首批国家公共文化服务体系示范区,2014年又成为国家公共文化服务标准化试点地区,是全国10个入选城市之一。

东莞,体育激情无处不在。这里诞生了新中国第一个体育世界纪录创造者——陈镜开,培养了中国桌球神童丁俊晖,成就了篮球巨星易建联,拥有全国第一家民营篮球俱乐部、10年8夺CBA总冠军的广东宏远篮球队,拥有“CBA第一馆”东莞市篮球中心、“世界第一大高尔夫球会”观澜湖高尔夫球会、李永波羽毛球学校、国家羽毛球训练基地,被誉为“全国游泳之乡”、“举重之乡”、“龙舟之乡”、“龙狮运动之乡”、“斯诺克冠军的摇篮”、“全国篮球城市”等。2015年,东莞首次承办重要国际体育赛事——第十四届苏迪曼杯世界羽毛球混合团体锦标赛,2017年还将承办第16届亚洲马拉松锦标赛,为运动之城再添精彩。

——东莞是和谐宜居的现代生态都市。东莞是联合国环境署认可的“国际花园城市”。这里有上千平方公里生态保护区,环境优美、生态和谐,非常适宜居住和生活。2016年末,东莞的森林覆盖率为37.4%,拥有22个森林公园、14个湿地公园、6个自然保护区、1500多个公园和广场、956公里绿道,城市人均公园绿地面积22.87平方米。

东莞是中国优秀旅游城市,旅游资源丰富,有国家4A级旅游区(点)鸦片战争博物馆、松山湖、广东观音山国家森林公园、华南mall欢笑天地、东莞科技馆,有广东四大名园之一的可园、“中国历史文化名村”南社、塘尾明清古建筑群、迎恩门城楼等众多历史名胜古迹,以及冠和博物馆、唯美陶瓷博物馆等新型旅游景点。松湖烟雨、大道朝晖、广场挹萃、古塞飞虹、虎英叠萃、板岭凝芳、莲峰赏鹭、金沙漾月等被评为“东莞新八景”,成为东莞旅游的靓丽名片。目前,东莞正在大力发展“会展游、体育游、乡村游、生态游、水乡游、古迹游、文化游、工业游、健康游、休闲游”等十大旅游项目,努力成为国际商务休闲旅游城市目的地。

从虎门销烟到东莞制造,东莞印证了中国百年的求索和成就。凭借着“海纳百川、务实创新”的城市精神,东莞人正在阔步迈向“东莞创造”。这就是中国东莞,一座每天绽放新精彩的活力之城。

了解更多信息,请关注:

中国东莞网:http://www.dg.gov.cn/

“今日东莞”英文网:http://www.dongguantoday.com

东莞市政府新闻办公室官方微博@莞香花开:http://weibo.com/guanxianghuakai

“莞香花开”微信公众号东莞市政府新闻办公室微信公众号@莞香花开(Dongguanfabu)

东莞阳光网:http://www.sun0769.com

东莞时间网:http://www.timedg.com